Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


19-mei-2017 - 15-nov.-2017

Czech Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe 2017

19th May 2017 marked the Chairmanship of the Czech Republic in the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe. Czech Republic will chair the Council of Europe until 15th November 2017. For the second time in its history after 22 years Czech Republic is assuming the Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe to promote the Czech culture. The chairmanship was symbolically forwarded in Nicosia in the presence of Lubomír Zaorálek, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic.

The Council of Europe is an international organization, which is distinct from the European Union and has 47 member states (including Russia and Turkey). Its stated aim is to uphold human rights, democracy and rule of law in Europe. For this purpose was established the European Court of Human Rights, which allows individuals (following the exhaustion of illegal remedies) to sue the state of which they are nationals.

The portfolio of activities of the Council of Europe also includes regular monitoring of the human rights situation in the member states and issuing relevant recommendations for improvement, if there are some deficiencies in the field of human rights.

The Czech Chairmanship plans to hold several conferences on the rights of persons belonging to vulnerable or disadvantaged groups. The Czech Republic will also offer a diverse cultural programme, which will present the best from the contemporary Czech culture sphere including concerts, exhibitions, design and fashion events.

More information here

Detailed programme of Czech cultural events in Strasbourg here


Van: 19-mei-2017
T/m: 15-nov.-2017

Georganiseerd door:

Geen herinnering mogelijk